This site requires JavaScript, please enable it!

Reinhold Baer Prize > Reinhold Baer Prize 2022

Iker de las Heras
Iker de las Heras is the winner of the Reinhold Baer Prize 2022.
The title of his PhD thesis is: Some topics on finite p-groups and pro-p groups

Sam Hughes
Sam Hughes received a special mention for his PhD thesis Equivariant cohomology, lattices, and trees
The Reinhold Baer Prize is a biennial international prize of €1000 for a young researcher working in group theory. The prize is supported by the no profit association AGTA - Advances in Group Theory and Applications and by Aracne Editrice - it is dedicated to Reinhold Baer (1902-1979), a great German algebrist who built an important school of group theory. The selection committee of the prize consists of three members, which are nominated by the AGTA Council; the Committee selects the winner and can additionally mention a second deserving candidate. However, the Committee may decide not to award the prize, in case of absence of adequate scientific applications.
  1. The 2022 edition of the prize will be awarded either to a Ph.D. thesis or to a relevant research paper, defended or published in a refereed journal during the two-year period 2020-2021.
  2. If the applicant chooses to submit a research paper, no one of the authors should hold a permanent academic position.
  3. The deadline for application is April 30, 2022.
  4. The applicant must be under age 35 on January 1st, 2022.
  5. In order to apply you must send an email to attaching a copy of your ID, and either your Ph.D. thesis (together with a document attesting the date in which you defended it) or your chosen paper (together with publications details).