This site requires JavaScript, please enable it!

Reinhold Baer Prize > Reinhold Baer Prize 2020

Florian Eisele

Leo Margolis
Florian Eisele and Leo Margolis are the winners (ex aequo) of the Reinhold Baer Prize 2020.
The paper with which they won is: A counterexample to the first Zassenhaus conjecture

Hangyang Meng
Hangyang Meng received a special mention for his PhD thesis Regular orbits of actions of finite soluble groups. Applications
The Reinhold Baer Prize 2020 is an international prize of €1000 for a young researcher working in group theory. The prize is supported by the no profit association AGTA - Advances in Group Theory and Applications and Aracne Editrice and is dedicated to Reinhold Baer (1902-1979), a great German algebrist who built an important school of group theory. The selection committee of the prize consists of three members, which are nominated by the AGTA Council; the Committee selects the winner, and can additionally mention a second deserving candidate. However, the Committee may decide not to award the prize, in case of absence of adequate scientific applications.
  1. The prize will be awarded either to a Ph.D. thesis or to a relevant research paper, defended or published in a refereed journal during the two-year period 2018-2019.
  2. The deadline for application is May 31, 2020.
  3. The applicant must be under age 35 on January 1st, 2020.
  4. In order to apply you must send an email to attaching a copy of your ID, and either your Ph.D. thesis (together with a document attesting the date in which you defended it) or your chosen paper (together with publications details).